AAMS announces 2017 award winners


The US Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) has revealed the winners of its 2017 awards. This year’s awards included the best mechanics, fixed-wing operators and neonatal and paediatric care.

This year’s awards winners were:


Program of the Year - Life Link III

Marriott-Carlson Lifetime Achievement Award - Allen C. Wolfe Jr., Air Methods Corporation

Jim Charlson Safety Award - Krista Haugen, RN, MN, CEN, Med-Trans Corporation

Transport Mechanic’s Award of Excellence - DJ Lafrance, STARS

Airbus Helicopter’s Vision Zero Aviation Safety Award - Life Link III’s Hospital Helipad Safety Video

AAMS Fixed Wing Award of Excellence - AirMed International LLC

AAMS Critical Care Ground Award of Excellence - Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago’s Transport Team

AAMS Neonatal/Pediatric Award of Excellence - UNC Carolina Air Care Pediatric / Neonatal Team

AAMS Excellence in Transport Leadership Award - Ranna Rozenfeld, MD, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago’s Transport Team

AAMS Excellence in Community Service Award - Mandy Via, BSN, RN, NRP, CareFlight Air & Mobile


Other news

Ansat helicopters, produced at the Kazan Helicopter Plant of Russian Helicopters (part of Rostec State Corporation), will now be able to carry an added 150 to 200...

RACQ CQ Rescue was called upon to attend to two shark attack victims in Cid Harbour, Australia in two separate attacks a day apart.

RTAF has expanded its H225M purchase order with Airbus Helicopters, securing an additional four multi-role helicopters as part of its fleet strengthening.

Ireland’s first community air ambulance service will not be a doctor-led service, according to findings from the Irish Examiner.

The service, named Irish...

Commercial drone manufacture K2 Unmanned Systems has announced that is now offering tethered drone solutions for its UAVs.