AAMS to confer annual awards

AAMS to confer annual awards

AAMS announced the winners of its annual Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC) Awards Show

The US-based Association of Air Medical Services (AAMS) will today hold its annual Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC) Awards Show, this year held in Charlotte, North Carolina.

The winners, who were named in September before the conference was postponed due to local unrest, are as follows:

California Shock Trauma Air Rescue (CALSTAR) won the Programme of the Year Award for its ‘outstanding and exemplary programme’. Craig Yale of Yale Group won the Marriot-Carlson Lifetime Achievement and Leadership Award, for his ‘outstanding contributions to the emergency medical transport community’. BJ Miles of Life Flight Network won the Jim Charlson Aviation Safety Award, for his ‘contributions in aviation and aviation safety’; Larry Trout of Metro Aviation, assigned to MedFlight, won the Transport Mechanic’s Award of Excellence for his ‘significant contributions to the safe operation of medical transport vehicles’; PHI Air Medical won the Airbus Helicopters Vision Zero Aviation Safety Award for its ‘team achievement in promoting a higher level of safety in air medical services’; Phoenix Air Group won the Fixed-Wing Award of Excellence for its ‘outstanding contributions in patient care and safety in fixed-wing transport’; New Hanover Regional Medical Center VitaLink Critical Care Transport won the Critical Care Ground Award of Excellence for its ‘excellence in a dedicated critical care ground service’; Nicklaus Children's Hospital LifeFlight Program won the Neonatal and Pediatric Transport Award of Excellence for its ‘significant contributions to overall enhancement of neonatal/paediatric transport patient care’; Donald Wharton of REACH Air Medical Services won the Excellence in Transport Leadership Award for being a ‘superior transport leader’; The AAMS Chairman’s Legacy Awards were given to Corey S. Pittman for his ‘promotion of EMS and critical care education throughout the US’, Ralph N. Rogers for his ‘promotion of standards for the critical care transport industry throughout the world’, and Suzanne K. Wedel for her ‘promotion of medical research and the critical care transport community throughout the world’; CALSTAR won the AAMS Excellence in Community Service Award for its contribution to California’s ‘Every 15 Minutes’ programme; Kelly Carter won the Medevac Foundation Patient of the Year; Mountain Area Medical Airlift won the Medevac Foundation Chairman’s Award for its ‘advancement of aviation safety through the promotion of night vision utilisation for the air medical industry’; Captain Greg Maddox of Wellmont 1/PHI Air Medical won the Pilot of the Year Award for his ‘professionalism and positive impact on safety and air medical operations’; Jeff Collier of PHI Air Medical won the Communicator of the Year Award for his ‘enthusiasm and competence in all aspects of [his] duties and consistently promoting safe practices with an emphasis on professionalism, dedication and a desire to continuously improve on [his] communication skills’; David Olvera of Air Methods Corporation won the Tim Hynes Award for being ‘an exceptional paramedic who has demonstrated leadership in education and safety within our profession’; Justin Koper of HealthNet Aeromedical Services was the Tim Hynes Foundation SMTA Scholarship recipient; Jonathan Godfrey of Children’s National Medical Centre won the Lynn Stevens Excellence in Safety Award for his ‘significant contributions to safety initiatives’; Leslie Lewis of Medical City Children’s Transport won the Katz-Mason Award For Medical Transport Nursing Excellence for her ‘excellence in leadership and positive impact on flight nursing globally’; Susan Marie Thibeault of YALE, Dept. of Anesthesia won the Jordan Award for her ‘significant contributions to aeromedical journalism’; Finally, Catherine Carrubba of Aeromed, Tampa General Hospital, won the Medical Director of the Year Award for ‘significant contributions to the flight program, and dedication to air medical transport and patient care’.

AirMed and Rescue would like to congratulate all the winners.